Last updated on 17/12/2020

Asthma Australia is pleased to announce some changes to our Board of Directors.

James_Wright David Simmons
Chair James Wright David Simmons, OAM

We are proud to announce that James Wright has taken up the role of Chair. James is not a new face to the Board having joined when Asthma Australia formed following a merger of Asthma Foundations in 2017 and fulfilled the role of Treasurer.

“As someone who understands firsthand the challenges of navigating life with asthma and looking after children with asthma and allergies, James is well placed as Chair. He also brings significant experience in economics and investment markets working in senior roles in both the public and private sector. I welcome the opportunity to work with James on the next phase of our journey and as we seek to further realise our potential to help Australians with asthma lead healthy and fulfilling lives,” says Michele Goldman, Asthma Australia CEO.

After reaching the end of his term, our inaugural Chairman, David Simmons OAM, has taken the decision to step down as Asthma Australia’s inaugural Chair, having led our organisation following our merger. Much has been achieved over the last three years in establishing a solid foundation for the new entity.

“David has a wealth of governance experience, combined with excellent interpersonal skills, and a warm and caring disposition.  As the CEO, it has been wonderful to work alongside David and I have benefited from his advice and support. He is deeply respected by other directors and the broader team of Councillors and staff.”

Asthma Australia is at an exciting time in its evolution, with a highly engaged Board, rich diversity across our Advisory Councils (both consumer and professional), and a well-regarded brand. Under the leadership of CEO Michele Goldman, it is poised to achieve its aspirations of helping people to breathe so they can live freely.

Once again, we thank previous Chair David Simmons OAM for your valued contribution to Asthma Australia and we welcome James Wright as new Chair. We look forward to this next chapter in 2021.

To read more about our Board of Directors, click here. .